Dragon Noodle Salad AND Sesame Tofu

YES.  YES I LOVE THIS SO MUCH.  I knew I would like this.  It’s spicy sesame peanut noodles over lettuce.  How could it go wrong?  This is one of the first recipes I tabbed to make when I did my initial look-through of Isa Does It.  While I knew I’d like the salad on its own, I really wanted to make sure I had a substantial dinner, so I included the Sesame Tofu, cut into strips.  It was wonderful all together. 

Image

Initial thoughts – salad:  The dressing was spicy  and peanutty and so good.  The noodles were cooked just right, although I did have to cook them about a minute longer than the box told me to.  I loved the radishes and cucumbers.  I had a hard time incorporating lettuce into every bite, but I think it’s just because my lettuce chunks were too big.  This was SO GOOD as leftovers for lunch the next day, too.  I kept the lettuce separate until I was ready to eat, and I think that was a good idea. 

Initial thoughts – tofu:  Kinda boring all on its own, initially.  I cooked it in slabs . . . .

Image

and then cut it into strips for the salad.  As it sat and cooled down it got more and more delicious.  I liked the really cooked edges more than the centers, so I think I’ll cut the tofu into smaller pieces when I make this again.  This is a really simple recipe (3 ingredients!), so it’s totally worth making to throw into or on top of another recipe.  It does use the broiler, which is always a pain in the butt for me because i store an extra broiling pan in the broiler and then forget to take it out before I heat it up, and then what the hell do I do with this 500 degree metal pan?  I wouldn’t make it to eat on it’s own, I don’t think, but it’s perfect for a salad or sandwich.

 

Would I make it again (both):  Hell yes.  For the salad, smaller lettuce pieces.  For the tofu, I’d just cut it smaller before I broiled it.

Leave a comment